College of Science and Health > Academics > Mathematical Sciences > Student Resources > Scholarships and Awards

Scholarships and Awards

​Student Scholarships

Several scholarships are available to undergraduate mathematics students at DePaul. These vary in monetary amounts and eligibility requirements, but those available to mathematics students include:

  • The Effron Family Scholarship for Pure Mathematics
  • The Richard K. Matthei Memorial Scholarship
  • The Rev. Charles F. Shelby Endowed Scholarship
  • The Briefs-Waters Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • The James & Mary Schaefer Liberal Arts & Social Sciences Endowed Scholarship

To apply, students should fill out the General Application at the DePaul Scholarship Application site. For more information, contact the chair of the Scholarship Committee, Sarah Bockting-Conrad (​).

Walter A. Pranger Memorial Prize in Mathematical Sciences

The Walter A. Pranger Memorial Prize in Mathematical Sciences recognizes outstanding undergraduate scholarship in the mathematical sciences. The prize takes its name from Dr. Walter A. Pranger, Professor of Mathematical Sciences at DePaul, honoring his 35-year committment to excellence in teaching at DePaul University. The prize awards at least $500 annually to a graduating senior. To be eligible, a student must:

  • Be a graduating senior with strong academic credentials in mathematics, education, computer science, commerce, or music;
  • Demonstrate an interest in advancing the study of mathematics; and
  • Demonstrate an interest in applying mathematics in innovative ways.
  • 2023 - Rachel Taylor
  • 2022 - An Luu
  • 2021 - Matthew Mikota
  • 2020 - Devin Becker
  • 2019 - Laurel Jackson
  • 2018 - William Asztalos
  • 2017 - Connor Thomas
  • 2016 - Megan Davis

Outstanding Mathematics Student Award

The Outstanding Mathematics Student Award is awarded annually to an outstanding graduating senior, based on her/his GPA in all mathematics courses taken at DePaul University, as well as on other factors.

  • 2023 - Kathryn Griggs
  • 2022 - Isabella Petri
  • 2021 - Devin Becker
  • 2020 - Sofia Lasky-Headrick
  • 2019 - William Asztalos
  • 2018 - Carson Schuetze
  • 2017 - Greg Zanotti
  • 2016 - Matt Garvin

Allstate Actuarial Sciences Award

Allstate Financial has made funds available for two $500 awards each year to undergraduate or graduate students who are not in their final year at DePaul. Actuarial Science and Mathematics majors are encouraged to apply, provided they have passed (or are scheduled to take) at least one Society of Actuaries or Casualty Actuarial Society examination by the time of their application.

Actuarial Sciences Exam Fee Reimbursement Fund

The fund provides partial reimbursement of the exam fee to students who get a passing score in any Society of Actuaries or Casualty Actuarial Society examination.

Putnam Competition

The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition is a highly prestigious and legendarily challenging mathematics exam administered each year by the Mathematical Association of America. Cash prizes are awarded each year to the five highest scoring teams and to the 25 highest scoring individuals. The five highest scoring individuals are designated Putnam Fellows, and are awarded the William Lowell Putnam Prize Scholarship, which carries a value of $12,000 plus full tuition to Harvard University.

The Department of Mathematical Sciences at DePaul University fields a team for the Putnam Competition each year. The competition is open only to regularly enrolled undergraduates, in colleges and universities in the United States and Canada, who have not yet received a college degree. No individual may participate in the competition more than four times. The Department holds an ongoing series of coaching sessions to help students prepare for the exam.