College of Science and Health > Faculty & Staff > Faculty A-Z > Jayne Jaskolski

Jayne Jaskolski

  • ​​​​​

  • Founding Program Director
  • ​​​Ph.D., CCC-SLP

  • Speech Language Pathology
  • 773-325-8473
  • DePaul Speech & Language Clinic - 2400 N. Sheffield Avenue - Office 122

Dr. Jayne Jaskolski, Ph.D., CCC-SLP is the founding director of the DePaul University Speech Language Pathology Program. Dr. Jaskolski earned her doctoral degree in Language and Literacy from Cardinal Stritch University, in addition to her Speech-Language Pathology degrees from Marquette University (Master of Science) and University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Bachelor of Science). Dr. Jaskolski’s research is focused on the link between oral language and literacy. She is a licensed Speech Language Pathologist in both Illinois and Wisconsin and has practiced in a variety of setting including the NICU, home-health, birth-to-3, public schools and private practice.

Teaching, including providing professional development trainings, is one of Dr. Jaskolski’s passions. She is an invited speaker and presents at local, state and national venues on numerous topics related to language, literacy, and speech. She teaches courses on child language development and disorders; language, literacy and learning; and communication disorders. She is actively involved in leadership roles with the Illinois Speech-Language-Hearing Association as well on various committees of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association and the Council of Academic Accreditation. She is a founding member of the Chicago Speech Hearing Language Association and serves as a site visitor for the Council of Academic Accreditation.


  • Ph.D., Language & Literacy, Cardinal Stritch University
  • M.S., Speech Language Pathology, Marquette University
  • B.S., Speech Language Pathology, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


  • American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA) - Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) in Speech-Language Pathology
  • State of Illinois Dept. of Financial & Professional Regulation, Speech Language Pathologist
  • State of Wisconsin Dept. of Regulation and Licensing, Speech and Language Pathologist

Professional affiliations

  • American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
  • Illinois Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ISHA)
  • International Dyslexia Association (IDA)
  • Chicago Speech-Language-Hearing Association (CASHLA)
  • International Literacy Association (ILA)

Courses taught

  • SLP 101 – Introduction to Communication Sciences and Disorders
  • SLP 400 – Interprofessional Education
  • SLP 421 - Language Disorders in Early Childhood
  • SLP 485 - School Externships
  • SLP 486 - Medical Externships

Selected publications

  • Jaskolski, J. E., & Moyle, M. J. (2023). Professional Development in Phonological Awareness for Early Childhood Educators in Low‐Income, Urban Classrooms: A Pilot Study Examining Dosage Effects. Annals of Dyslexia
  • Jaskolski, J., & Moyle, M. (2017). Phonological Awareness Training Program: A Speech-Language Pathologist's Tool for Training Teachers, Bethesda: ASHA Press.​
  • Knecht-Sabres, L. J., Gunn, J. F., Conroy, C., Getch, S. E., Cahill, S. M., Lee, M. M., Ciancio, M. J., Jaskolski, J., Palmisano, L., & Kristjansdottir, K. (2016). Effectiveness of an interprofessional education event for graduate health professional students. The Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice. Oct 21;14(4), Article 2.
  • Anderson, C., Tiezzi Waldera, L., & Jaskolski, J. (Eds.). (2011). Developing teachers’ voice through action research. Milwaukee: MTEA Publication.


  • Council of Academic Accreditation Site Visitor (2020-2026)
  • CAPSCID Professional Development Committee (2021-2023​)
  • ASHA SIG 1 Coordinating Committee (2020-2023​​​)
  • ASHA SIG 1 Professional Development Committee (2018-2020)
  • ASHA Convention Committee – Literacy Assessment & Intervention (2020-23)
  • ISHA Child Language & Phonology Track Chair (2018-2021)
  • ISHA Legislative & Regulatory Affairs Committee (2019 to 2022)
  • ISHA Ethics Committee (2019 to 2022)
  • CASHLA founding member (2019 to 2022)