Actuarial Research Virtual Conference

August 19-21, 2021

DePaul University is pleased to host ARC 2021, the 56th Actuarial Research Conference online from August 19-21, 2021. All researchers, practitioners, and students are cordially invited.

Call for papersRegistration
Full Meeting AgendaParallel Session AbstractsSpecial Invited Session Information

Important Dates and Fees

The deadline to submit a paper has been extended to July 9, 2021. The decisions will be sent by July 16, 2021.

The registration fee for academic attendees is $25.00 ($50.00 non-academic). Students may attend at no cost.

Keynote Speakers


Dwayne Husbands, FSA, CFA, MAAA

Senior Manager, Ernst & Young

Presentation: How to improve diversity in the actuarial field?

View Bio

Mary Bahna-Nolan, FSA, MAAA, CERA

SVP, Head of Product Innovation and Strategy, Pacific Life

Presentation: Navigating the Noise: Bridging the gap between theory and application of insured lives mortality

View Bio

Ruodu Wang, Ph.D.

University Research Chair and Associate Professor

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science, University of Waterloo

Presentation: A tale of two risk measures: Contrasting Value-at-Risk and Expected Shortfall

View Bio


Platinum Sponsor $5000


Gold Sponsors $2500

Health Section

the actuarial foundation

Silver Sponsors $1000



Financial Reporting Section
Long Term Care Section
Modeling Section
Smaller Insurance Company Section
Predictive Analytics and Futurism Section
Product Development Section
Reinsurance Section

Bronze Sponsors $500

coaching actuaries
Retirement Section
Technology Section

the infinite actuary

Scientific Committee

  • Daniel Bauer

    • University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Vytaras Brazauskas

    • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Jun Cai

    • University of Waterloo
  • Steven Craighead

    • Pacific Life
  • Cynthia Edwalds

    • DePaul University
  • Chuck Fuhrer

    • Segal
  • Jose Garrido

    • Concordia University
  • Yuanying Guan

    • DePaul University
  • Yiou Li

    • DePaul University
  • Sheldon Lin

    • University of Toronto
  • Yijia Lin

    • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Colin Ramsay

    • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Emiliano Valdez

    • University of Connecticut
  • Tianyang Wang

    • Colorado State University
  • Shengchao Zhuang

    • University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Organizing Committee

  • Cynthia Edwalds

    • DePaul University
  • Yuanying Guan (Chair)

    • DePaul University
  • Desale Habtzghi

    • DePaul University
  • Yiou Li

    • DePaul University
  • Claudia Schmegner

    • DePaul University


Contact the conference at