The Department of Biological Sciences provides courses for biology majors, minors, and non-majors from all areas. The department currently has more than 600 majors in its undergraduate program leading to a bachelors of science and offers a graduate program leading to a Master of Arts or Master of Science.

All majors take a year of introductory biology, a genetics course and a biostatistics course. The department offers six concentrations​​ that allow students to focus on the areas and specialties that most interest them. Each concentration includes a set of core courses, followed by a choice of upper-level electives such as comparative anatomy, aquatic ecology, animal behavior, cancer biology, embryology, immunology, neurobiology, microbiology, pharmacology, plant biology, reproductive physiology, and toxicology.

Allied field courses for all concentrations include a year of general chemistry, a year of organic chemistry, a year of physics, and a year of calculus. Each concentration provides the prerequisites for application to post-baccalaureate professional schools, such as medical schools or Ph.D. programs.

The department also provides numerous learning opportunities outside the classroom, including field experiences, opportunities for laboratory research, journal clubs, student organizations, and research seminars.